Geography 353 Cartography and Visualization


...to Geog 353 Main Page and Course Description
...to Geog 353 Syllabus
Geog 353 Course Schedule (and Lecture Outlines)
...to Geog 353 Laboratory Information

Last Update: 11/8/17

The online schedule is the real schedule in Geography 353. Please watch for updates to the course schedule.

Lecture outlines, which can be accessed by delicately clicking on the lecture name in the schedule below, will be revised prior to lecture. Each lecture outline has the date of last revision at the top of the outline. I will do my best to finalize all revisions and updates to the lecture outlines a week before lecture.

Readings for each week should be promptly completed by the first meeting of that week. KW refers to the Krygier/Wood Making Maps 3rd ed. text.


Week 1

Week 1 Readings: KW Everything up to and including ch 1 (How to Make a Map)

Mon. August 21: No Class Meeting

Wed. August 23: How to Make a Map


Week 2

Week 2 Readings: KW ch. 2 (What's Your Map For?) & ch. 3 (Mappable Data) & ch. 4 (Map Making Tools)

Mon. August 28: What is a Map?

Wed. August 30: What's Your Map For? & Mappable Data & Explanation of Lab 1: Mappable Data

Assign: Lab 1: Mappable Data

Week 3

Week 3 Readings: KW ch. 4 (Map Making Tools)

Mon. September 4: No class meeting

Wed. September 6: Map Making Tools and Explanation of Lab 2: HTML & Map Mashups

Due: Lab 1
Assign: Lab 2: HTML & Map Mashups

Week 4

Mon. September 11: More stuff about the Endless Lab 2

Due: Progress on Lab 2 (HTML)
Wed. September 13: In class work on and help with Lab 2 & Explanation of Lab 3: Data Processing 1
Assign: Lab 3: Data Processing 1

Week 5

Mon. September 18: Work on & help with Lab 2 & Lab 3.
Due: Demo of HTML, Blog, and Map Mashup for Lab 2 @ end of meeting
Wed. September 20: Work on & help with Lab 2, 3 & Explanation of Lab 4: Introduction to ArcGIS

Assign: Lab 4: Introduction to ArcGIS
Due: Lab 2 & 3

Week 6

Mon. September 25: Explanation of Lab 5: Data Processing 2
Due: Lab 4
Assign: Lab 5: Data Processing 2
Wed. September 27: Explanation of Lab 6: Mid-Project Evaluation
Assign: Lab 6: Mid-Project Evaluation

Week 7

Week 7 Readings: KW ch. 5 (Geographic Framework)

Mon. October 2: Geographic Framework

Due: Lab 5
Wed. October 4: Work on and help with Lab 6


Week 8

Mon. October 9: Work on and help with Lab 6

Due (5pm): Lab 6
Wed. October 11: No class meeting: Fall Break


Week 9

Week 9 Readings: KW ch. 8 (Map Generalization and Classification)

Mon. October 16: Map Generalization and Classification and Explanation of Lab 7: Data Classification and Mapping
Assign: Lab 7: Data Classification and Mapping
Wed. October 18: Work on and help with Lab 7


Week 10

Week 10 Readings: KW ch. 6 (The Big Picture of Map Design) & ch. 7 (The Inner Workings of Map Design) & ch. 9 (Map Symbolization) & ch. 10 (Map Symbol Abstraction)

Mon. October 23: Map Design 1: Big Picture and work on and help with Lab 7

Wed. October 25: Map Design 2: Inner Workings and work on and help with Lab 7

Due: Choropleth ("Graduated Color") map classification from Lab 7

Week 11

Week 11 Readings: ch. 12 (Color on Maps)

Mon. October 30: Map Symbolization and work on and help with Lab 7

Wed. November 1: Color on Maps and work on and help with Lab 7

Due: Lab 7

Week 12

Week 12 Readings: KW ch. 11 (Words on Maps)

Mon. November 6: Assign and Explanation of Lab 8: Layouts & File Export
Assign: Lab 8: Layouts & File Export
Wed. November 8: Words on Maps and work on and help with Lab 8


Week 13

Mon. November 13: and Assign and Explanation of Lab 9: Cartographic Animation and Lab 10: Final Project Evaluation
Assign: Lab 9: Cartographic Animation
Assign: Lab 10: Final Project Evaluation
Wed. November 15: 🎶 ♭Work on stuff day ♭ ♫ ♪


Week 14

Mon. November 20: No class meeting: Thanksgiving Break

Wed. November 22: No class meeting: Thanksgiving Break


Week 15

Mon. November 27: Work on projects

Due: Lab 8
Wed. December 29: Work on projects
Due: Lab 9

Week 16

Mon. December 4: Student Presentations of completed Lab Projects

Wed. December 6: Conclusions

Due: Lab Projects (on WWW, and digital copies)

Week 17: Finals
Lab 10: Final Project Evaluation Due: end of scheduled final exam period.




E-mail: jbkrygier@owu.edu

...back to krygier top page.
...to krygier teaching page.

OWU Home
OWU Geology and Geography Home